What is the brightest star in space?

The brightest star in the sky is Sirius, also known as the Dog Star or, more officially, Alpha Canis Majoris, for its position in the constellation Canis Major. Sirius is a binary star dominated by a luminous main sequence star, Sirius A, with an apparent magnitude of -1.46.