What kind of horse is a mustang?

A mustang is a feral horse descended from domesticated horses brought to the U.S. by the Spanish in the 1400s and 1500s. They freely roam the Americas. A mustang is not a single breed, but is a phenotype, adapting to its environment and genetic profile.

---

A mustang is a horse descended from the horses that roamed the plains of America freely. They were brought over by the Spanish and became an integral part of many Native American cultures.