What is the diameter of a basketball goal?

A regulation basketball rim or hoop should be 18 inches or 46 centimeters in diameter. Two NBA basketballs won't quite fit through the hoop at the same time though, as NBA balls are between 9.43 and 9.51 inches in diameter.