Do honey bees live in the ground?

Honeybees live in hives, not in the ground. But 70% of the 20,000 species of bees do nest under ground. In North America, most of these ground bees become active in early spring. Nests are easy to identify above ground because of conical piles of dirt with a large hole in the middle.