What was the gentleman's agreement of nineteen oh seven?

The Gentleman's Agreement was an informal agreement between the United States and Japan to counter hostility to Japanese workers in California. The United States agreed not to restrict Japanese workers coming to the US, and Japan would deny passports to those workers wishing to go to the US.