Why can't chickens have peanuts?

Raw peanuts include an enzyme called peanut lectin that can be dangerous to your poultry's health. Raw peanuts also contain an enzyme called trypsin that is deadly for smaller animals and fowls. This is why you should never feed peanuts to your chickens or other fowl.