Where does the expression long in the tooth come from?

The phrase “long in the tooth” originates from horses, or more specifically, a horse’s teeth. This is so because the older a horse gets, the longer their teeth becomes. The length of a horse's teeth gives an approximation of its age. This expression is usually used to describe someone as being old.