What's a hands?

Hands could mean: the end parts of a person's arms beyond the wrist, including the palm, fingers, and thumb. Or a pointer on a clock or watch indicating the passing of units of time. Or a measurement of a horses height from the ground to the top of the horses withers, a hand is equal to 4 inches.