Why was valentine's made?

The holiday has origins in the Roman festival of Lupercalia, held in mid-February. The festival celebrated the coming of spring and included fertility rites and the pairing off of women with men by lottery. At the end of the 5th century, Pope Gelasius I replaced Lupercalia with St. Valentine's Day.