What is a poke stick?

The archaic meaning of poke stick is it was a small metal rod that was heated and used to set pleats and ruffles in clothing. A poke stick is also a tool for making tattoos in the tradition to those done in the south pacific where they use a sliver of bamboo to put the ink below the skin.