What's the difference between celery and celery hearts?

The difference between celery and celery hearts is that Celery is the entire bunch, which includes the bitter leaves and outer stalks. This is the green stuff that grows out of the celery root. Celery hearts are the tender, softest, most edible part of the celery and known as the ribs of the plant.