Why is vienna sinking?

Venice sank 11 inches in the last century. The city stretches across numerous islands in the Venetian lagoon along the Adriatic Sea. At high tide (acqua alta), parts of the city are flooded, and global warming and groundwater pumping is causing Venice to sink.