Why was beer made?

Beer was made by accident once the agricultural age started. Some say as old as 10,000 years ago. Our best records indicate it was in steady production in Mesopotamia in 3,500 bc. It was created when leaving bread out in the rain. The yeast then fermented the starch and the rest is history.