What was the cause of carmen's death?

The post details Carman's cause of death specifically as a result of "fighting a series of complications resulting from surgery to repair a hiatal hernia." Carman's health prior to the surgical mishap had undergone a miraculous rebound since his initial diagnosis with myeloma cancer in 2013.