Why did labor day become a holiday?

The first Labor Day holiday was on Tuesday, September 5, 1882, in New York City. Other states then began celebrating Labor days. On June 28, 1894, President Grover Cleveland signed a law making the first Monday in September of each year a national holiday to celebrate Labor.