Why do lemons have seeds and limes don't?

Limes do not have seeds because they can't produce them, which means they are essentially sterile. Science has aided in the development of different limes that do not produce seeds, but most seedless limes found in stores just naturally lack seeds.

---

Both lemons and true limes do have seeds. The limes sold in the USA are usually Persian limes, which is a special variety known as parthenocarpic limes which do not have seeds. They are a hybrid of a lime and a citron. True limes, such as those sold in Mexico, do have seeds in them.