When did thomas the train come out?

Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends made its US debut on PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) in 1989.

---

The first series of 26 stories premiered in October 1984 on the ITV Network in the UK, with former Beatles drummer, Ringo Starr as storyteller. Thomas started in the US, beginning in 1989 with Starr as the show's Mr. Conductor character.