Who started the punk rock movement?

Punk music began in the United States with bands like the Stooges and the Ramones. Punk subcultures crystallized in England during the mid-1970s, expressing a distinctive ethos and visual style. In the 1980s, punk fragmented into different scenes and subgenres.