Where does the expression ok come from?

Back in 1839 it was en vogue to facetiously misspell words in order to come off as humorous. Think about it in today’s terms as acronyms such as “OMG” and “lol”. A newspaper editor thought it funny to misspell the term ‘all correct’ as “orl korrect”. Ths later evolved into the abbreviation “OK”.