What's a color?

A color is a frequency of the visible light spectrum. The human eye sees color over wavelengths ranging roughly from 400 nanometers (violet) to 700 nanometers (red). Light from 400–700 nanometers (nm) is called visible light, or the visible spectrum because humans can see it.