Why shouldn't you mix old and new batteries?

If the batteries are in series, the old battery can cause overheating and damage to the device it's in. In parallel configurations they can safely be connected together. Be sure you understand the differences: In series increases voltage; parallel increases amperage, not voltage.

---

Introducing new batteries into a circuit with old batteries will prematurely drain the new batteries as they would carry more of the electrical load of the circuit.