Can bats take off from the ground?

Bat wings don't provide enough lift to take flight from the ground. A bat's legs are connected to their wings, so walking, let alone jumping into the air, is nearly impossible. A few species are able to jump, but these bats are adapted to hunting and feeding on the ground.