What is artificial vanilla flavoring made from?

Castoreum is a chemical compound that mostly comes from a beaver's castor sacs, which are located between the pelvis and the base of the tail. Because of its close proximity to the anal glands, castoreum is often a combination of castor gland secretions, anal gland secretions, and urine.