How many human years is dog years?

It’s 365 days, but they age quicker than humans. A common rule of thumb is that 1 dog year is equivalent to 7 human years, but research shows that puppies age much faster than older dogs.

---

The American Kennel Club uses the American Veterinary Medical Assn guidelines. These say the first year of a medium size dog's life is equal to 15 years for a human. Add another 9 years during the human's second year, and add 5 years for each year after. This varies based on the size of the dog.