Why do flies have red eyes?

Flies with red eyes have a reddish pigment, called pteridine, which gives the eye its bright red color. The pigment in a fly's eye filters incoming rays of light so they are focused on the photoreceptor cells. The pigment prevents light rays from scattering when they enter the eye.