Was president andrew johnson a republican?

For most of his political career, Andrew Johnson was a Democrat. In 1864, however, he ran as Vice President with Republican Abraham Lincoln on the National Union Party ticket. The short lived political movement sought to unite former Democrats with moderate Republicans.