What is the average atomic mass?

The average atomic mass of an element is the weighted average mass of the atoms in a naturally occurring sample of the element. Average masses are generally expressed in unified atomic mass units, where 1 u is equal to exactly one-twelfth the mass of a neutral atom of carbon-12.