How are earthquakes rated?

The Richter scale is used to rate the magnitude of an earthquake, that is the amount of energy released during an earthquake. The Richter scale doesn't measure quake damage (as Mercalli Scale do) which is dependent on a variety of factors including population at the epicentre, terrain, depth, etc.