Why is root beer called root beer?

The “root” in the name came from its main ingredient, the sassafras root. Hires changed the name of his product from “tea” to “beer” sometime before the Philadelphia Centennial Exposition in 1876. It's likely that he changed the name to make the beverage more appealing to the working class.