What is a sea scallop?

Scallops are a type of bivalve mollusk, meaning the interior muscle is surrounded by two shells similarly to oysters, mussels, and clams. The two types of scallops are bay and sea. The bay variety are smaller, dimed sized and more tender, while sea scallops are larger, growing as big as two inches.