How many taxi cabs are there in new york city?

There were about 143,674 taxis and for-hire vehicles licensed by the TLC in 2015, according to the 2016 Factbook. These include 13,587 Medallion Taxicabs; 7,676 boro taxis; 38,791 black cars; 21,932 livery cars; 288 commuter vans; and 2,206 paratransit vehicles.