What does heat lightning do?

The phenomenon that is sometimes called heat lightning is simply cloud-to-ground lightning that occurs very far away with thunder that dissipates before it reaches the observer. Its possible to see the flashes of lightning from very far distances up to 100 miles but the sound does not carry that far