Are goats and sheep the same thing?

No, they are distinctly different animals. A goat's tail usually points up, while a sheep's hangs down. Also, sheep have a woolly coat that requires annual shearing. Their taxonomy (scientific classification) diverges. Sheep, Ovis aries have 54 chromosomes, while goats, Capra aegagrus hircus have 60