What does conventional bake mean?

Most standard ovens are conventional or thermal bake ovens. Thermal bake simply means that the heat comes from the heating elements on the top and bottom of the oven. In a thermal bake oven, air passively circulates because there is no fan to force the air to flow throughout the oven cavity.