How much water are humans made out of?

The average adult is 57 to 60 percent water. Infants average 75 to 78 percent up to their first birthday.

---

Up to 60% of the human adult body is water. According to H.H. Mitchell, Journal of Biological Chemistry 158, the brain and heart are composed of 73% water, and the lungs are about 83% water. The skin contains 64% water, muscles and kidneys are 79%, and even the bones are watery: 31%.