What is the difference between a duvet and a comforter?

A duvet is usually filled with synthetic fibers or down such as feather or wool. Unlike a comforter, they're not supposed to be quilted or stitched. A comforter is a fluffy, thick, quilted blanket used as the top blanket on your bed. Sheets or additional thin blankets can be used under them.