Why is mac and cheese called mac and cheese?

Mac is a shortened form of the word Macaroni. Macaroni is the type of pasta used in the dish, along with some kind of cheese

---

In this case, mac is short for macaroni. So mac and cheese is macaroni and cheese. Usually, but not always, elbow macaroni mixed with cheddar cheese sauce.