What color is nail fungus?

Nail fungus is yellow or brown. It begins as a white or yellow-brown colored spot under the tip of your fingernail or toenail. As the fungal infection goes deeper, the entire nail may turn to darker yellow or brown, thicken, and crumble at the edge.