What is an alto saxophone sound like?

Low notes on an alto are not as rich as those on a tenor, but with good technique, they have a cool combination of brassiness and warmth. The upper register of the alto has a hot sound that no other sax has, with an overtone-heavy richness that is richly harmonic.