How many species of jellyfish are there?

There are almost 200 known species of jellyfish. While many of them are harmless, there are several species of jellyfish that have highly venomous stinging capabilities, that cause severe consequences for humans, such as extreme pain or even death.

---

There are more than 2,000 different types of jellyfish. Approximately 70 can hurt people, with the box jellyfish (Chironex fleckeri) being the most dangerous. Scientists believe that there could be as many as 300,000 different species of jellyfish yet to be discovered.