Is apple cider the same as apple juice?

In at least one state, fresh cider is defined as raw apple juice that has not undergone a filtration process to remove coarse particles of pulp or sediment, while Apple juice is juice that has been filtered to remove solids and pasteurized so that it will stay fresh longer.