Why is the smartest animal a chimpanzee?

That depends on how your define "Smart", and whether is involves reasoning ability, or "innate intelligence", the ability to respond to it's environment appropriately. Chimpanzees do seem to have the greatest reasoning ability in the animal world, but there is no universal metric for intelligence.