What's the difference between a thunderstorm watch in a thunderstorm warning?

A watch means that a storm might occur. A warning means a storm will definitely occur.

---

A thunderstorm watch means that conditions are, or may become favorable for the development of thunderstorm activity. A warning means that an actual thunderstorm has been sighted, detected using radar, or is imminent, and that you should put emergency preparedness plans into effect.