What is jamie lee curtis's character in halloween?

Jamie Lee Curtis plays Laurie Strode, the younger sister of Michael Myers. Though she lacks his super human strength, she has come back from the dead twice, as her character died in a car accident in 1987 and then again in 2001 when she was stabbed to death and thrown off a cliff by her brother.