When was wayne gretzky drafted?

The Great One was only ever formally drafted at the age of 16 by a junior hockey league onto the Sault St. Marie Greyhounds in 1977; Gretsky was then picked up for his first professional contract to play for the World Hockey Association's Indianapolis Racers in 1978.