What is the definition of tiramisu?

The literal meaning of Tiramisu in Italian is “pick me up” or “cheer me up”. Tiramisu is an elegant and rich layered Italian dessert made with delicate ladyfinger cookies, espresso or instant espresso, mascarpone cheese, eggs, sugar, Marsala wine, rum and cocoa powder.