How long does it take to make french fries?

Heat oil in a deep-fryer to 375 degrees F. Cook potatoes in hot oil until golden, 5-6 minutes. Drain on paper towels. Turn up the heat on your oil to 400 degrees. Fry the potatoes again until they are golden brown and crispy on the outside. This will take about 10 minutes. Watch them closely.

---

It takes 20 to 30 minutes total time to make homemade French fries. You'll need 10 to 15 minutes prep time & 10 or so minutes to cook them.