What do p. h. d. mean?

PhD stands for Doctor of Philosophy. It is a degree conferred in any discipline except medicine and only given after the achievement of a bachelor's and a master's degree. Medical doctors are not PhD's. They receive the degree MD, or Doctor of Medicine.