Is r. e. e. d. a. word?

r-e-e-d spells reed, which is a kind of plant from the grass family.

---

Yes, "reed," spelled R-E-E-D, is a real English word. Its primary meaning is a tall, slender grass that grows in water or marshy ground, and is often used as a metaphor for that plant. It also refers to piece of cane, metal, or plastic that's used to create sound in most woodwind instruments.