Is the five second rule a myth?

According to Paul Dawson and Brian Sheldon., authors of "Did You Just Eat That?", the five-second rule appears to be an old wives’ tale. There is conclusive evidence that when food comes into contact with a contaminated surface, bacteria are transferred almost immediately.